Public Expression of Religion Act of 2005

Passed the House Tuesday September 26th, 2006 mostly on a party line vote 244 to 173


The breakdown of the Roll Call Vote can be seen here:


Key Secular Political Score Card to find out how your representative voted on theocracy in the past:



26 Democrats joined the GOP in supporting a Theocracy & they are as follows:

J Barrow (D-GA)

M Berry (D-AR)

D Boren (D-OK)

A Boyd (D-FL)

D Cardoza (D-CA)

J Costa (D-CA)

R Cramer (D-AL)

H Cuellar (D-TX)

L Davis (D-TN)

B Gordon (D-TN)

S Herseth (D-SD)

R Hinojosa (D-TX)

D Lipinski (D-IL)

J Marshall (D-GA)

J Matheson (D-UT)

M McIntyre (D-NC)

C Melancon (D-LA)

S Ortiz (D-TX)

C Peterson (D-MN)

N Rahall (D-WV)

M Ross (D-AR)

J Salazar (D-CO)

D Scott (D-GA)

I Skelton (D-MO)

J Spratt (D-SC)

G Taylor (D-MS)


ONLY 6 Republicans went against the GOP and fought against Theocracy & they are as follows:

J Biggert (R-IL)

S Boehlert (R-NY)

W Gilchrest (R-MD)

M Kirk (R-IL)

C Miller (R-MI)

C Shays (R-CT)


Those who vigourously debated for or against the Bill on the House Floor:

For Theocracy:

Phil Gingrey (R-GA)

John Hostettler (R-IA)

Lamar Smith (R-TX)

Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL)

Brian Bilbray (R-CA)

Mike Pence (R-IA)

Joseph Pitts (R-PA)


Against Theocracy:

James McGovern (D-MA)

Chet Edwards (D-TX)

Barney Frank (D-MA) (mentioned the word “atheists”)

Maxine Waters (D-CA)

Jerold Nadler (D-NY)

Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Bobby Scott (D-VA)



Please make sure you call/email your representatives!




Click Here to Take ACTION NOW: